The Chronicles of Narnia

I can’t count the number of times I’ve read the first several Narnia books.  In fact, I’m quite certain that I’ve read all of them except The Last Battle more times than fingers.  I’m quite certain that I have only read The Last Battle three times.

When I was a kid I of course didn’t see the Christian allegory in these books.  Why would I have?  And really, it’s most present in The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, The Magician’s Nephew, and The Last Battle.  Then I read them during college and felt like I’d been slapped in the face with it.

Now, having once again read the whole series front to back, I don’t feel slapped in the face with it.  It’s there, but it’s integrated so well into the fantasy of Narnia in general that… well, I can overlook it.  I still love the fantasy of it; The Horse and His Boy is still my favorite of the books.  And I can’t wait until the kid is old enough to appreciate them so we can read them together.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

