The Baroque Cycle

I finally finished it. FINALLY. It was like a freaking marathon.

Review c&p’d from Goodreads (and look, a link to my profile!)

The System of the World (The Baroque Cycle, Vol. 3, Book 3) The System of the World (The Baroque Cycle, Vol. 3, Book 3) by Neal Stephenson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This review isn’t just about System of the World, but about the whole Baroque Cycle. The short version of the review is… I think he could have accomplished everything he set out to accomplish with these books in a third as much space. Finishing them felt like a test of endurance. I always have trouble keeping track of Stephenson’s characters and plotlines but, again, this time there were simply too many for me to have half a chance. I felt like I needed a flowchart and a timeline.

All of this sounds like I didn’t enjoy the books. I did. There were certainly characters I found very engaging (I loved Jack Shaftoe and Eliza; for the first two books I was downright bored by Daniel) and the historical context was compelling.

But… there was just. too. much.

View all my reviews

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

