The Muppets

“I just can’t seem to wipe the smile off my face.”

That’s what the kiddo came out of The Muppets saying. She also cried both scared and happy tears over the course of the movie. Of course, our house had been all-Muppets, all-the-time for the six weeks leading up to Thanksgiving, so it’s not all that surprising that she loved it. But the adults loved it, too. Sure, there’s not a hell of a lot of plot, but it’s really not necessary. It’s all about reveling in the Muppet-ness of it. What plot there wasn’t was made up for by the music… I especially enjoyed “Pictures in My Head” and the kiddo has been singing “Life’s a Happy Song” at the top of her lungs at least three times a day for the past week.

The cameos were Muppetly fantastic, too. M and I looked at each other when the Moopets first appeared and made the “Is that really Dave Grohl?” face. Jim Parsons as Human Walter was also particularly brilliant casting. Because I’m me, I was sad that NPH didn’t at least have a real line or two.

1 Comment

  1. Longtime Muppet fans will undoubtedly have more fun than young ones, but for the most part, it’s a witty, delightful romp, that shows you that you can still be funny, without ever being mean still in 2011. Good review.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment